yoga and hiatus hernia

Home Forums Ask Erich General Questions yoga and hiatus hernia

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    Carlo Pagano

Dear Erich, I have been doing yoga since 1994, essentially Iyengar Yoga under Mario Ciccarelli. In 2005 my Teacher die due to a car accident, in 2006 I started feeling heartburn after my practice and through and endoscopic exam they found a hiatus hernia, since then I have never been enjoying yoga like before, I went to various senior Iyengar teachers but they didn’t help me substantially, I had started to explore other way to relief my discomfort like Tai Chi and also Weight lifting, which gave me more understanding, but now I’m essentially in the same condition, always in search for an answer which can help me.I would ask you if you can help me and what are your advices.
    Thank you!
    OM Tat Sat!
    Carlo

Erich Schiffmann
    Keymaster

Hello Carlo, Thank you for posting your question here. You are the 1st!

The problem with hernias is they tend to get bigger. The larger they get, then the bowel can get stuck in the hole in the abdominal wall which could cause death to that part of the bowel, then death of the patient or major emergency surgery.

If the hernia is small and painless, surgery might not be needed. Obviously a doctor should assess the hernias so that you know if there is any danger with doing nothing or using exercise to treat the hernias. Also, if your work or life style requires lifting things or people, that tends to increase the size of the hernia over time. If the hernias are really small, abdominal strengthening can be helpful, but I’d do that with a trained medical person like a PT or with someone who has experience with working with hernias. Again you do not want to do it wrong and cause bowel strangulation.